See you later!

One of my all time favourite writers is Terry Pratchett. Mainly because he turned the world into a giant disc floating through space and also because he says things like,

Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.

DSC07039(Also, he made Death say, „CATS. CATS ARE NICE.“)

I remember sitting on the flight from London Heathrow to Zürich, nervously flipping through the pages of my copy of City Of Heavenly Fire (yes, I read that crap!), thinking about what to feel, what to say to the people waiting for me at the airport, what to do if my luggage shouldn‘t arrive, and all of a sudden I caught myself thinking that I would much rather be in Honduras! What an irony, considering that six months before I was wishing for the opposite!
But I got my luggage and somehow I felt okay, seeing my family and friends waiting for me. My mum called (I have the sort of mum who doesn‘t go through all the trouble of actually going to the airport just to welcome her daughter home. She was absolutely fine just waiting for me at home!), we caught a train, my brother carried my bag, my dad took my suitcase. It was rainy, people were talking in Swiss German… it was so different, but it was all the same. It‘s the weirdest thing, seeing all this for the first time in so long, but nothing appears to be new.

Welcome Back!
Welcome Back!

Now I have been home for two weeks of which I spent one in Germany with my friends. It was a little tough only spending two days at home and then heading all the way to the Wadden Sea, but I think I needed that time to get used to the people here again. I may have been a bit cranky throughout the week what with all the climate changes, the jetlag and the culture shocks – but when we all said good-bye to each other on saturday night I felt so relieved I could have cried. Finally there were people I would not have to say good-bye to for more than a couple of days. I would not have to miss them. And I realised that I‘m home now. I have found a home in Honduras and I will always, always miss my Chiminike family and all those wonderful people I met; but I look at those guys here and no matter how cranky I get, no matter how annoying they are, they are where I belong.
So, I guess you could say that I‘ve been adapting just fine. My neighbours‘ kids have been over, telling me that I‘m the best babysitter and that they are really excited about being able to borrow my books again (good babysitters have good books!). It‘s nice to have been missed (for whatever reason), and I like being here.

Just like the "good old times"
Just like the “good old times”

But you know, having said that, I will never get over Honduras. Like I said, it‘s like breaking up with someone you still love. Falling in love with a place is not the same as falling in love with a person – you can‘t break up with a place, with its culture and the friends you made there. It‘s just like the saying CHIMINIKE always had children remember: It‘s not good-bye‘, it‘s see you later!‘

Leave a Reply

