Procrastination

I know it has been some time since I last blogged about whatever this is that I‘m doing, and I feel it‘s time to let all those who have been asking know: I have not been busy with sex!
Yeah, now would be a great time to apologize for being absent by telling some fascinating story about how I rescued a kitten from a burning house and how I then had to be rescued myself and how I have been looking after poor Mr. Snuggles for the past days, treating his injuries and only now being free enough to write some lines. Umm, well, no. Actually I once witnessed a house burning down, and I don‘t think I would have saved a kitten from in there. It was really scary.

Anyway, you‘ve probably already guessed it from the title that I‘ve been very busy procrastinating. I suppose sex could count as a form of procrastination unless it is specifically used to populate the earth, but really, that‘s not what I meant. Anyway! (*fakecoughing*) Procrastination seems to be a really popular topic to blog on lately, and I have so far always thought I would not write another article on this. Because, let‘s be honest, writing about procrastination is just another way of procrastinating your way around having to find an actual interesting topic to write on.

The thing about me is that I hate being bored. And that is kind of a problem if you are facing a five week holiday at home after having been to Central America for six months. And I have been really well prepared for all those free days, too. I was going to finally write a novel, there‘s a play I‘m currently writing with my theatre group in Bern, I have two blogs to update, I was going to read a ton of books… it worked well for a while, but then I decided I had to make a scrap book of Honduras, like, right now! And that turned out to be more fun than staring at blank pages, trying to fill them with words. That and watching „F.R.I.E.N.D.S.“ Also, I tried to start uni this week, but even that sort of failed seeing as I have only had one lecture so far.

First day of officially being a university student! Yay!
First day of officially being a university student! Yay!

The problem with procrastination is that it is fun. It may not get you anywhere, but it‘s far from boring. I don‘t mind watching „F.R.I.E.N.D.S.“ all day and sorting through pictures of happy times. And, you know, John Green did say that the time we enjoy wasting is not wasted time. Let‘s take some comfort in that!

Oh god! I just watched Daniel Howell‘s video blog on the topic and realised that I‘m not even doing procrastination right. I don‘t have lunch, I just get breakfast really late and then forget about eating until dinner time and I don‘t actually have any obsessions on the internet, because my Twitter account has like nine followers and Tumblr kills my Mac off. And I keep forgetting that my blogs now have a Facebook page. I think that is my cue to getting some actual, real life work done!

Cheers! xxx

(also, check out these videos that do not help at all if you want to be productive right now!!)

Leave a Reply

