Autumn Favourites

It‘s officially autumn! Yaaay! I know it‘s been officially autumn for over a month now, but only now the weather has realised it, too. I love getting all wrapped up in the morning when I leave for uni. I love drinking hot tea and curling up under a blanket to read or watch Doctor Who (I know there‘s other TV shows, but why bother?!). I love the cold air and the sunshine and the red leaves that cover the bycicle track and the icy blue of the river.
When I was in Honduras there were many things that I loved about the country, like the fact that there‘s actual rain forests, but autumn is something that I wouldn‘t want to miss out on. It‘s just so wonderful how everything changes.
Of course just like every other blogger right now I have my personal so called autumn favourites. But I would like to differ just a bit here, because my autumn favourites this year are not limited to autumn. Let‘s call them favourite autumn memories!

20141023_174947

I think number one would be hanging out with my niece. She‘s fifteen months now and I get to babysit her more and more now that she‘s gotten used to me again. I‘ve actually stolen a pacifier from my sister to keep at my house. So everytime little Anastasia comes over, I‘m ready! I don‘t really want to blab on about the miracle of life, but having a baby around is really fun. It‘s such a tiny person and everytime I see her she‘s a little bit closer to the lady she‘s some day going to be! I‘m just so bedazzled! On saturday I took her for a walk through the woods – she fell asleep straight away, but everything smelled of autumn and the trees were all red and orange and I had this little human with me that gets the silliest giggles out of me.

IMG-20140910-WA0000
My favouritest place to go!

Number two, I‘d have to say hanging out at the Brasserie. It‘s a small café in Bern where I used to go to a lot last autumn when we performed the play about Sophie Scholl that I‘d written. It‘s definitely one of my favourite places. I went there recently with friends to play card games. I remember that it rained and that I kind of worried about my bike getting all wet but that at the same time I kind of didn‘t care. I really missed the Brasserie in Honduras, because of all the happy memories I have of it. Walking in there just means that everything is okay.
Oh, and did I mention that there‘s a demon haunting the bathroom? Yuuup! Sitting right behind you, ready to attack. Or that‘s what it feels like, anyway!

brass101

And finally, number three – it‘s birthday season! My mum turned young this October (the perks of having a baby while you‘re still at uni!) and she usually hosts a huge party. I think I have a really cool mum, one that is very annoying at times, but one that also doesn‘t judge me for getting home drunk, having silly boyfriends or failing exams. In return I don‘t judge her for having more pictures of our dog on her phone than she does of her children. No, seriously, she‘s the bestest mum!
Also, a lot of my friends celebrate their birthdays. I made a piñata for the first time in my life (I sooo wanted one in Honduras, but there just wasn‘t enough time… reason to go back!) – guys, only do this for people you really love, because it‘s so much work!
And, oh, it was also my stepmum‘s birthday, but she‘s still waiting for her present and hug. She deserves one, because she makes my dad really happy and I don‘t want her out of my life any more. She‘s not going to read this, I don‘t think. Unless I send it to her. HI ELVIRA!!! Ooh, she‘ll love this!

20141019_191258

20141017_235930

I‘m so happy to have my patchwork family and my warm Babuschka socks and the ability to play Tichu and that my dog rolls onto her back when I come downstairs and that James Blunt keeps reminding me how beautiful I am and that there‘s tea and that I have friends in Honduras and New Zealand who haven‘t forgotten about me and friends here who put up with me. I‘m happy I manage to put up with me!

20141029_221842

Cheers!
xxx

Infowww.restaurantbern.ch
Brasserie Lorraine
Quartierstrasse 17,
3013 Bern

Leave a Reply

