Sexy Books: Boys In Books Are Better

I am currently reading three books, two of which are about missionaries in Africa sent there by the Basle Mission. They are just for extended study, because I’m co-writing another play for the Theaterensemble Johannes that we’re going to present next autumn. The other book that I’m reading right now is Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, but I’ve only just started and thirty pages in I don’t have much to say about it.
Buuut I do have some homework for my Polish class tomorrow morning and because I’m the queen of procrastination I felt the urge to write about books instead. Or boys in books since I don’t have a book to write about.
There is a song by Carrie Hope Fletcher called “Boys In Books Are Better” that I listen to all the time, not because it’s so true, but it just makes me really happy everytime I hear it!

I don’t like most of the boys in books, because their cheesyness is so over the top! But here’s to the boys that I actually find dateable in my favourite books:

1.) Sam Roth (Wolves of Mercyfall series by Maggie Stiefvater). OmgIloveSamsooooobloodymuch! Sam is cheesy, but in an authentic  sort of way. He’s a real sweetheart, kind and caring and he has good manners. That, and he’s hot and plays the guitar.

2.) Warden (The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon). I’m not entirely sure whether it’s a healthy thing to be attracted to Warden. But I like the fact that he’s in the resistance movement and trying to protect Paige from harm. I kind of liked him from the beginning – like I said, might not be healthy!

3.) Eragon (Eragon series by Christopher Paolini). I must admit I haven’t even finished book four, because I got a little bored of the story. But I loved books one and two and I loved Eragon. When I was fourteen every story I wrote was about him. He’s sooo innocent and sweet, and please, he has a baby dragon! He faints an awful lot, but with Eragon it’s kind of endearing. Yup, still dying for Eragon!

4.) Peeta (The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins). Peeta is a baker, what other explanation do you need?! No sparkly vampire, no hardcore shadowhunter, no fallen angel, no werewolve – he’s good at decorating cakes! Yess!

5.) Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen). That’s a cliché, but I feel like you just have to love him. I couldn’t even point my finger at as to why, my heart just melts everytime I read the book or watch the movie. DarcyDarcyDarcyDarcy!!

Actually, I’m not sure boys in books are that much better than boys in real life. If we met a Mr. Darcy we just wouldn’t recognise him at first sight because he’d seem arrogant. If we found a boy having fun with cakes we’d automatically assume he’s gay. And, well, I haven’t really met a guy like Sam. I should probably add that Maggie Stiefvater makes me fall for every male character she writes. They seem to make really amazing boyfriends!
Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that boys in books can be brilliant, but there’s probably someone out there who –as Carrie points out– “is looking for a girl like Bella Swan”. But then again, I’m writing about my love for fictional characters here, so what good is my dating advice! Just, you know, don’t think that Mr. Darcy doesn’t exist outside the book covers. You might just have to take a closer look. 🙂

Oooohh, also my copy of Blue Lily, Lily Blue just arrived two days ago and I can’t wait to read it! I feel like it’s glowing everytime I look at it lying on my bookshelf!

Take care for now!
Cheers! xxx

Leave a Reply

