Blogmas: Fourteen Festive Favourites

Christmas season has arrived! It’s finally advent and I’m officially allowed to spread the festive mood! This month I’m launching a new project called THE ADVENT CALENDAR — this means I will post something every day, so make sure you come back. Actually, I haven’t thought this through very thoroughly, so it’ll be just as much a surprise for me as it will be for you!
Since it’s the first day of December and we only have twenty-three more days to go until Christmas Eve, I decided to start this thing off by naming fourteen Festive Favourites. I got the idea from Tom Fletcher, although I slightly altered it.

DSC01299

Number One: Favourite Christmas Tradition
When I was little i used to love decoration the christmas tree, but this year I don’t think we’re even going to get one. I think I’ll have to go with baking. I make amazing christmas cookies!

Number Two: Favourite Christmas Carol
The Little Drummer Boy. The part ”…I played my drum for him… / And then he smiled at me…” makes me cry every time. Even now!

Number Three: Favourite Christmas Food
Cookies! I love that you only get certain cookies at this time of the year, and I basically live off them for weeks!

 Number Four: Favourite Christmas Movie
Three Gifts for Cinderella, the czech movie from 1973. It‘s incredible, I used to really want to be her. She gets all those lovely dresses just by cracking open some nuts – seriously, watch it!
Oh, actually there‘s another one – I really love Love, Actually. Especially the scene with Hugh Grant dancing through 10 Downing Street – I could rewatch this endlessly (and I do!).

Number Five: Favourite Christmas PresentDSC07042
I‘m quite a tough person to give presents to, because the only thing you can buy that makes me genuinly happy are books, and I own about three hundred! Actually, thinking about it, I think the greatest gift I ever got was my teddy bear. I was already ten or eleven when I got it, but even now I can‘t fall asleep without it. It‘s called Uschi and has been travelling everywhere with me. I even wrote a poem about it once!

Number Six: Favourite Christmas Story
By far it has to be The Hogfather by Terry Pratchett. Santa Claus can‘t make it and Death takes the job. It‘s hilarious!

Number Seven: Favourite Day in Advent
December fourteenth because it‘s my birthday! I‘m like a child when it comes to birthdays and christmas! I love unwrapping presents and eating chocolate cake and getting a hundred notifications on Facebook…! And because my birthday is so close to Christmas it always feels as if all the lovely lights in the streets are just for me and everybody gets so stressed because they need to find me a good present, even people that I‘ve never spoken to! Christmas, for me, is just a late Birthday party!

67896_10200505656906837_532871495_n

Number Eight: Favourite Christmas Song
White is in the Winter Night by Enya. It‘s the song I associate with my dad making pancakes. FYI – he makes the best pancakes in the world!

Number Nine: Favourite Christmas Decoration
I have a thing for weird christmas ball ornaments. Like the rubber duck shaped one I got last year that no one wanted to put on the tree!

Number Ten: Favourite Christmas Accessory
I have a knitted skirt with reindeers embroidered on it that my mum hates. In December I wear it multiple times a week, because the rest of the year I can‘t. Seriously, this is part of the reason why I love christmas so much! Best money spent ever!

Number Eleven: Favourite Christmas Scent
I love the way everything smells when you enter a Christmas market. Fir needles and mold wine and roasted almonds and cinnamon and candle wax… that‘s the smell of Christmas for me!

Number Twelve: Favourite Place To Spend Christmas
I like being at home for christmas. I spent it in New Zealand once, but it‘s just not the same when you‘re walking around in jandals all day. Christmas has to be cold (I was going to say white, but who am I kidding!). Apart from that I don‘t care where I have Christmas precisely. My house or my grandmum‘s house or my dad‘s house – as long as my family is with me and I‘m well fed!

Number Thirteen: Favourite Christmas Quote

First we‘ll make
SNOW ANGELS
for two hours,
then we‘ll go
ICE-SKATING,
then we‘ll eat a
whole roll of
TOLL HOUSE
COOKIE DOUGH
as fast as we can,
and then we‘ll snuggle.
(Buddy the Elf)

Number Fourteen: Favourite Doctor Who Christmas Special
The Christmas Invasion. I love Ten and Rose, and this episode is just so christmassy! Apart maybe from the fact that it snows ashes. But I always melt when he asks her to keep travelling with him. At that point everything outside of Aaaaaaww! is a strangely foreign concept for my brain!

So, there you go! Those are my fourteen favourite things about the Christmas season! It‘s not intended as a tag, but feel free to use those questions to spread the cheer! I hope you all have a wonderful afternoon, and I shall see you tomorrow!

Cheers!
xxx

Leave a Reply

