Blogmas: What (not) To Say In A Book Shop

Seeing as yesterday I shared some of my favourite quotes with you, I decided to share some more. This time, though, I‘d like to give a few examples of what people have said to me at work. As some of you may know I work in a book shop, and I love my job. Talking about books all day – it‘s a dream come true! Unless, of course, you have the following encounters…

*Me, pleasantly tearing off a price tag before wrapping the book up.*
Customer: What the heck are you doing?
*I show him the tag.*
Customer: Is this how much it costs in Euros? Why is it so much cheaper in Euros?!
Me: I don‘t know, I don‘t decide those things.
Customer: Well, I have you know that this is a crime!
Me: It sure is.
*I start to pull off another price tag on the other side of the book.*
Customer: What are you doing now?
*Again, I show him the tag.*
Customer: No, no, no, leave that on!
Me: But, sir, you can see the price on this!
Customer: Damn right you can. I want those bastards to know how much I spent on them!
*I leave the tag on and start wrapping the book up.*
Customer: Do you know how much one litre of milk costs?
Me: 1.85 CHFr
Customer: Do you know how much a beer costs?
Me: 4.60 CHFr at the Tramdepot.
Customer: In my day it used to be only 3.00 CHFr! Do you know how much money your father
makes?
Me: …

Customer: What book can you recommend for a thirteen year old that doesn‘t like to read?
Me: “Diary of a Whimpy Kid” is really funny.
Customer: Does it have a deeper moral?
Me: I guess…?
Customer: I‘m going to ask a professional!

Customer: Have you been to Kiel? I met this sweet couple that lives there.
Me: Yes. It‘s very lovely. As is Hamburg.
Customer: I‘ve never been. But I really love Berlin. I go there every year.
Me: Well, Germany is a great country.
Customer: *shudders* Oh no, I don‘t like it at all. The people are just terrible!
Me: Yes, well, I have a lot of family there, so I guess they grew on me.
Customer: See, this would never happen to me, those folks are dreadful!

Customer: *showing me a pink book with hearts and glittery snow flakes on the cover* Do you think a boy would enjoy this, too?
Me: I don‘t see a reason why not, but it does seem to be designed for girls.
Customer: I DON‘T CARE, I WANT HIM TO READ WHATEVER IT IS I‘M GIVING TO HIM!

Customer: I have read almost all of the books you have on crime.
Me: Have you read “The Cuckoo‘s Calling?”
Customer: NO!
Me: *Suggestively* It‘s by the same author that wrote the “Harry Potter” series.
Customer: I HATE “Harry Potter!” Don‘t want to read it, don‘t want to watch it!

There‘s entire books written about what people say in book shops. I‘m pretty sure that some day I‘m starting my own! No place to get insulted like in a good old book store! But seriously, what would I be writing about tonight if it weren‘t for those strange conversations!

DSC_5151

Cheers!
xxx

One thought on “Blogmas: What (not) To Say In A Book Shop

Leave a Reply

