Why the HIMYM Finale Sucked

I am currently going through a rebound phase that involves rewatching old episodes from How I met your Mother (as well as drooling over ancient pictures of Orlando Bloom and rediscovering my love for polka dots!). And I know this is petty and I know it has been a while since they aired it, but the HIMYM finale still upsets me!

First of all, the series is 9 seasons long and it is called How I met your MOTHER – I was really excited about Ted finally meeting her, and then she dies?! I know this is how life can work, you wait your entire life for someone and then they are given very little time… but then why make a sitcom out of it? It‘s depressing!
And yes, Ted has been in love with Robin forever, but I thought the moral there was that even though you think you can‘t stop being in love with a certain person, you may suddenly meet someone who will make you so much happier than the other ever could. The moral shouldn‘t be, have kids with someone who can, then hope she dies so you can get back together with your ex.

Which brings me to my second point, namely Robin and Barney. Half the series revolves around these two and their on-off relationship, and throughout most episodes I cared less about Ted finding true love than Barney and Robin dating. It was so beautiful to watch Barney go from a disgusting womanizer to a caring boyfriend who is willing to commit. None of the other characters evolved as much during the show, and I this may well be the reason we love him so much. He shows us that everybody can change if they set their mind to it.

81e94cc974729b3fca1b759b601a6787
Source

An entire season is dedicated to their wedding, and don‘t even get me started on the emotional effort I had to go through! I can‘t handle romance, I always cry, and please, Ted proposes to Tracy on a lighthouse, Barney organises an ice skating rehearsal dinner, and BLAH! I was a wreck! So WHY do they get a divorce?! Is it just to show us that life is not pretty and romantic at all? The one thing that made us believe in true love, more than watching Lily and Marshall, and to hell with Ted and Robin, the one thing that proved that true love is real were Barney and Robin. They are such messed up people, so complicated on the inside and outside, and somehow they find to each other and they find themselves within each other – and they get a divorce fifteen minutes after we‘ve just seen them exchange wedding vows?!
It‘s not even that they get a divorce that‘s so bad – it‘s life, people split up. But there is this huge change going on in Barney over the seasons, and we start to really like him as the show goes on. But then he just goes back to his old patterns, being the jerk he was in the first ever episode.

It‘s as if the makers of the show really didn‘t want their viewers to have any illusions about life. True love doesn‘t exist, people don‘t change, people die. But it‘s a TV show, I‘m watching this because I‘m desperate for the illusion!

Now if you‘ll excuse me, I‘m going to need some Taylor Swift to get over my emotional damage caused by fictional characters! (Aside from that I‘m grand, though! 😉 )

Lots of love!
xxx

One thought on “Why the HIMYM Finale Sucked

Leave a Reply

