Noemi in Wonderland

In a number of ways I think I have never quite grown up. I know how to pay my bills and I vote on a regular basis and I like alcoholic beverages. But there is no way I can keep my cool where Disney is concerned. Tangled was the movie that I wanted to see on my 18th birthday and I have a selection of Disney princess dolls in my bedroom that my friends have brought home from their trips to London, I know the lyrics to all the songs, and it only seems natural that when I went to Paris with my wonderful friend Samantha this weekend, we also spent a day in Disneyland.

DSC07701

A lot can be said about Disneyland; it‘s a capitalistic structure, entrance fees could feed an entire African nation and it‘s as overrated as the original Mona Lisa painting (it‘s like staring at a stamp!). Yet, I loved Disneyland! I put on my favourite dress and my new shoes and I wore my Minnie Mouse ears all day long, and I felt like a princess arriving home when I walked through the castle. It was magical, okay?

DSC07655

IMG-20150716-WA0035

IMG-20150716-WA0027

DSC07676

I got extremely emotional when I met Mickey (sorry to everyone who was queueing up behind me – it took us a while!) and I cried during the parade; I really wasn‘t expecting that but I just got so very excited when I saw Peter Pan and Cinderella, and there was music, and Jesus! Just too many feels!

My favourite part of the day was the Frozen Sing-Along. I have no idea how they managed to find a guy with such an immense resemblance to Kristoff, or what kind of surgery this man had undergone – but he can have my number any time!

DSC07712

DSC07785

DSC07738

They say that Disneyland is the place where dreams come true. That‘s wrong. Dreams will not come true in Disneyland, it‘s just a theme park after all. But it‘s a place that will make you believe in those dreams again. We live in a world that is so hellbent on reality that we forget that we used to dream of pixie dust that makes you fly, of enchanted kisses and Jinnies. Maybe I get a little too excited about things but maybe the world would be an inherently better place if people cared more about fairies and happily ever afters.

DSC07794

DSC07799

I hope you will dream of fairies tonight and of eloping to Neverland and of kissing all the Prince Charmings (yes! all of them!).

Lots of love from the roots of my heart!
xxx

2 thoughts on “Noemi in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

