Last But Not Least: Day Two

Bild 3

I have never seen the sun shine in London before. To me, it has always been a place lost in time. A grey sky over grey asphalt and grey castles. With just a touch of glistening magic. But today the sun shone and I wore a summer dress and I burnt the tip of my nose and the sweat made my knickers stick uncomfortably to my bum. The sun makes London such a real place. All the people wearing hot pants when they should, well, wear anything but them! All the litter on the street illuminated, all that dust in the air, the graffiti on the walls. I have never noticed before that underneath the magical surface London is a real place.

We ran down Primrose Hill facing the Skyline and we crossed the Tower Bridge looking down on all the ant-like people. Primrose Bakery makes the best cupcakes in the world, and mine was extra delicious. And then we sat on the roof again and watched the sun set. I listened to the sound of the train and from above the wild traffic was just a distant, far off noise. As the light came to a close even the dirt seemed romantic.

(Quote: John Green)

One thought on “Last But Not Least: Day Two

Leave a Reply

