Blogmas (Day 1) – ‘cuz «Christmas Must Be Something More»

Hello Lovelies!

I just can’t believe it’s December already! It’s the best time of the year; everything’s sparkling and glittering and there’s snow, at least I  hope that there will be! I’m just on my way home from uni now and because they have the coolest warehouse in Fribourg I’ve already been shopping for some Christmas essentials. As you can probably tell, I am seriously excited about the Holiday Season. So to spread the festive cheer I will of course be doing Blogmas this year. Maybe the two people who actually read my blog will remember that I had a hard time keeping it up last year with work and uni and my Honduran host brother staying at my house, so this year there’ll be no Hondurans, and I got myself a partner in crime. Please meet the amazing Anna from Tiny Trinket who will be posting on her blog, so make sure you pay her a visit. She’s a lot more professional than me, so if you’re looking for more than just shaky iPhone uploads and pointless rambling she’s your kinda girl!

To the rambling part then! I love Christmas for all the wrong reasons. I love the snow and I forget about the cold. I love the lights and I forget about the shadows they cast. I cry because there are unhappy children in the world, and then I go and buy stuff from H&M. I worry about our plastic consumption, yet I spend money on lametta. I judge consumerism but I never judge myself. I‘m a complete and utter hypocrite, and I try my best getting my name on Santa‘s Nice list all year, but I keep realising that I‘m just a girl in a silly outfit. 

But yesterday it came to me why Christmas is still important and why I should ramble on for 24 days straight and why I should put up the hand knitted nativity set my mum gave me last year; we had dinner as a family in candle light last night, and I knew Christmas had come because I was with the best people in the whole world and my brother flicked me off which he hadn‘t done in ages, because we never see each other in our busy schedules, and we talked about all the nonsense we usually don‘t talk about because somebody‘s phone is always beeping or something has happened at work. It was just us, and it made me feel whole.

And that‘s Christmas. To have time, to lock out the cold and let in the light. To be safe in somebody‘s company and to make the simplest dinner last for hours.

Lots of Love from the Roots of my Heart!
xxx

Because my computer is not feeling so festive I can’t link any content. If you want to visit Anna on her blog (please do!), here’s her adress: http://www.tinytrinket.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Blogmas (Day 1) – ‘cuz «Christmas Must Be Something More»

Leave a Reply

