Blogmas (Day 4) – The Stress-Detox

December can be a very tough time with Christmas approaching and all the things to be done before the year ends – who doesn‘t get stressed out, right? Fortunately there are a few easy tips which I‘m going to present to you today as to how you best get de-stressed in December.

First, don‘t do Blogmas! Blogging every day just overdoes it when you have a busy schedule at hand.

Second, don‘t work at a gift wrapping station in a popular book shop. Eight hours a day dealing with unhappy customers who want everything to be their way – who does that to themselves?

Third, read a book that doesn‘t challenge you to think too much. A vampire romance perhaps. Anything but titles such as Multiculturalism in Latin America. Your brain‘ll get all fuzzy and weird.

And lastly, eat healthily. Avoid stuffing yourself with porridge and TimTams for days on end.

Okay, I suppose I‘m not doing so well myself on the whole de-stressing issue – but honestly, I‘ve tried this Christmas themed porridge and now I just can‘t stop! And it‘s not like I have the essential time to cook between work and uni and homework. God bless the microwave!
For me to actually take care of myself when times are rough is quite the challenge. I get a bit into a crazy Hermione Granger mode where I spend nights on end reading and revising my notes, and I actually get up super early sometimes, just so I can be at the library when it opens. And this doesn‘t even have anything to do with Christmas, this is just the exam season alone!

chandler
Source: http://www.buzzfeed.com

However, what I have found to be incredibly helpful is to take some time out when I really have no time at all to take out. When I realise that I need to rearrange my thoughts and just breathe for a bit I watch Harry Potter or take my dog for a walk. There are a lot of things that can be done in three hours, but then again it‘s just a couple of hours. If I fail an exam because of half an afternoon spent restoring my mental health, then maybe I‘d have failed anyway.

Last night my brother and I went to see Bodo Wartke in Bern. It was brilliant and funny and it really took my mind off things. And when we came back home close to midnight I actually found the energy to sit down at my desk and work for another two hours – something I might not have done as effectively had I stayed home all night.

This whole topic for today‘s post was Anna‘s idea by the way – as if I‘d ever come up with the idea of not stressing about! Not to blame her, just remember to have a look at what she has to say (probably less rambling, more sound advice – she‘s very wise!) – www.tinytrinket.wordpress.com.

I hope everyone‘s holding up fine and enjoying the festivity of the month!

Lots of Love from the Roots of my Heart!
xxx

And btw! Multiculturalism in Latin America is a brilliant book, do not read the latest Twilight novel instead, okay?

One thought on “Blogmas (Day 4) – The Stress-Detox

Leave a Reply

