Blogmas (Day 7) – My December Must-Reads

Oh Happy Day!
I just passed my final exam for this month and the taste of liberty is ever so sweet. This means that I finally get to read bad romance novels again. Excessively. Of course December is a special time to get involved with books – at least for a Christmas fanatic like me! So for today‘s post I decided to share some of my absolute favourites with you! Enjoy!
 

IMG_20151207_185755

Harry Potter and the Philosopher‘s Stone (J.K. Rowling)
I know this is not strictly speaking a Christmas novel. But Christmases at Hogwarts always seem to be particularly festive. The armours carol, there‘s a massive dinner and everybody gets the coolest presents. I wanted to have an Invisibility Cloak so badly when I was little!

 

IMG_20151207_184926

Shiver (Maggie Stiefvater)
To me Maggie‘s stories are the ultimate books to curl up with on cold winter days. The story is about Sam who turns into a wolf every year when the cold comes. But now he‘s human and Grace, the protagonist, wants to keep him warm and around at all costs. This book absolutely completely ruined me! It‘s that good!

 

Source: www.pinterest.com
Source: http://www.pinterest.com

Let It Snow (Maureen Johnson, John Green & Lauren Myracle)
Now this is all about Christmas. It contains three individual love stories that are all somehow linked, and then there‘s a great finale at the end. It‘s just perfect to get into the Christmas mood. And I laughed. Like, the whole time!

 

Bild 56

 Christmas with Billy and Me (Giovanna Fletcher)
Can I just say, the reason I enjoy reading Giovanna Fletcher so much is because I like watching her so much. Whenever there‘s a part of the story that I don‘t like I imagine her reading it out loud and it makes it all better. She‘s such a lovable lady! Christmas with Billy and Me is a spin-off from the original Billy and Me in which Sophie, an anxious small town girl, meets Billy, a famous actor. They fall in love and I can promise you some kind of Happy End, because, you know, they have Christmas together in the spin-off. It‘s a gorgeous little story that had me well up in tears.

 

IMG_20151207_185135

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)
Now this is my all time favourite Christmas Story! Very short summary: Death plays Santa Clause. It‘s hilarious, just read it!

 

IMG_20151207_185945

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C.S. Lewis)
It‘s always winter, but it‘s never Christmas. You have no idea just how many wardrobes I entered, hoping I would somehow find myself in Narnia (I was the most gullible child, I swear!). There is so much to this little book that defines Christmas for me

 

IMG_20151207_185425

My True Love Gave To Me (edited by Stephanie Perkins)
My Honduran host brother got me this last year and I have to say it‘s a perfect match. I love the song from which the title derives, I love the cover and I love almost all the authors that contributed their short stories to this gorgeous work.

It‘s only 18 more days until Christmas and I‘m now going to be spending most of my time away from uni working in the book shop. Book shops are such a magical and beautiful place, especially in winter. I actually love this place so much that I still hang out in the shop‘s café during my free time and just read. And if you‘re wondering, I‘ll now be reading Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher. Aaaahh, it‘ll be fabulous!

Of course Anna has also created a list of her favourite books to read in December, so make sure you have a look at her blog on www.tinytrinket.wordpress.com. Actually, I can‘t wait, because I limited myself to seven books and I have a zillion books more I could tell you about right now! So, little consolidation: more books on Annas‘s blog!

Lots of Love from the Roots of my Heart!
xxx

4 thoughts on “Blogmas (Day 7) – My December Must-Reads

Leave a Reply

