Blogmas (Day 21) – A Christmas Memory

Last friday I had actually planned on writing about a lovely Christmas memory – which I didn‘t do because I was so psyched about the new Star Wars movie (still am, but MOVING ON!). Although I used to call rainy weather «Star Wars Weather» when I was little (because I was not allowed to watch telly when the sun was out), there are of course better holiday memories to tell you about.

The one that has stuck with me the most is from when I was about seven years old. It was a few days before Christmas Day and my dad, who‘s a reverend, took me to a Christmas Party in the woods. This is something quite traditional in Switzerland and not as creepy as it sounds. Basically people working at church gather somewhere in a forest and decorate a tree, there‘s a little sermon and you sing Christmas carols. My dad was in the organising committee and quite spontaneously took me along. I just remember that sort of magical feel, standing in a dark forest and holding a candle and being a little, shining light. I felt so small and so big and so much a part of the world around me.

At the end there were presents and I was given a Tarzan picture book. The Disney movie had just come out and I loved that book so much. I read it over and over again on the train later that night. And then I wondered what would happen if I stuck a piece of the apple I was eating up my nose – and, being me, I simply tried. And then Tarzan landed on the floor and I was crying because I could not get the darn thing out of my nose.

We went to my grandparents‘ house for the night and I remember being taken in by my grandmother. She had been waiting up and, having removed all fruity remains from my nose, I felt so safe and wrapped up. My bed was already made and I think I fell asleep on the way from the porch to the guest room, and closing my eyes was so easy and harmless because arms would always catch me and carry me, and somebody would always tuck me in.

Now I feel I sometimes forget the light that I once felt I was, and I forget that just because I have to tuck myself in now there will always be arms to catch me.

Lots of love from the roots of my heart!
xxx

Anna’s blog turned 1 yesterday, so everyone, please go and congratulate her/it! You find her on http://www.tinytrinket.wordpress.com. Her blog’s amazing, as is she! 🙂

Also, here’s a song that reminds me of that Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Blogmas (Day 21) – A Christmas Memory

Leave a Reply

