Sexy Books: Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher

Just read: Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher.

I‘m going to try and be a bit better with book reviews this year, since this is the kind of thing I enjoy reading the most myself. And maybe be a bit more active on Goodreads, too. And finish reading all the novels I have started reading simultaneously. Good plan!

I absolutely adored reading Dream a Little Dream, and I think the reason for that comes down to the fact that once you‘ve heard Giovanna Fletcher talk you can‘t not love her books! She has the loveliest squeaky voice and whenever I read one of her novels I just imagine her narrating it and that makes it very hard to put the book down.

20160106_185927

I know I only rated it three stars on Goodreads, that is because it‘s not actually a good book (oh, how it pains me to say this). It‘s not incredibly well written, not very original and there are some seriously awkward sex scenes. Plus, at one point Giovanna‘s husband, Tom Fletcher, pops into one of the protagonist‘s dreams which is, you know, a little weird. Also, I feel like she‘s trying very hard not to describe herself and her own pretty little life by creating a character who‘s in her late twenties, unmarried and a bit cynical towards her parents‘ posh lifestyle. Yet, I‘m sure Giovanna‘s way of living is pretty posh (being married to the lead singer of McFly must be some perk, right?).

All that being said, the story is incredibly heart warming and made me cry towards the end.   I fell completely in love with Real Brett for being such an utter sweetheart throughout the entire book, he made me yearn for raspberry jam (I now have a jar in my fridge!) and, yeah, he did make me believe in true love again (not that I ever not believe in that. I just like the confirmation). So, if that peaks your interest, here‘s the blurb for you:

Sarah is doing just fine. Sure she’s been single for the last five years, and has to spend an uncomfortable amount of time around her ex-boyfriend and their mutual friends, and the rest at her tediously mundane job, but it’s fine. She’s happy(ish). But it’s not surprising that when Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins looking forward to falling asleep at night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted. Because people never really find the person of their dreams… do they?

Basically, Dream a Little Dream is a soap opera in book form, and I firmly believe that anything that comes in the shape of a book is better than television. It contains a couple of super cute quotes and is a very good read when all cuddled up in a blanket while «the wheather outside is frightful»! (Ha! See what I did there?)

Bild 77

Lots of love from the roots of my heart!
xxx

Also, here’s a video from Giovanna Fletcher’s Youtube channel because she is one lovely lovely lady and you’ll fall in love with her INSTANTLY!

5 thoughts on “Sexy Books: Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher

  1. Although it’s a shame you didn’t like this book as much as the others I really enjoyed your review. One of the things I love about Giovanna’s books is that she always finds away to link Billy Buskin into the story which makes a lot of sense since he’s an actor. I think it’s a really good thing to do, especially if you can pull it off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha yeah , that is a cute thing that she does! 🙂 I enjoyed reading it, it’s not like that, and apparently many many people absolutely loved it… maybe it’s just not quite my genre.:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

