My Weird Obsession With Dinosaurs

It’s confession time! I don’t know why I have the urge to talk about this now, but I think I need to come clean at some point anyway: I have a weird obsession with dionsaurs. *awkward background chirping*
To be fair, who doesn’t! Dinosaurs are awesome – they are real life dragons, they are massive, and evolution turned them into FRIGGIN’ CUTE LIL BIRDS! Way to go, T-Rex!

My love for dinosaurs derives from the children’s movie series The Land Before Time – whose hero Littlefoot was as much a rolemodel to me as Snow White or Aladdin (I thought he was a babe!). Every toy dinosaur I owned was essentially called Littlefoot because Littlefoot is not only bloody cute, he’s also very loyal and wise and good with the advice. I mean…

cc7d0f4cf141e99ac0c77ae98caea234

Please bare with me on this post, I feel like it’s 99% a virtual word vomit.

I think it’s fairly alright for a child to obsess over things – I did, after all, discuss at length the beauty of Eragon’s hair with a twelve-year old recently. But I can’t deny that I have a slight tendency to go over the top. I pretty much forced my friends to visit the dinosaur museum in Switzerland when I was sixteen and made them take all sorts of ridiculous photographs  of me posing with the fossils. I’m pretty sure they’re still hating me for this.

46857_1607490350057_1320123694_31651570_6107891_n

4562e3fedb53621ccf1deda266c5d3f6

But, it’s just – there are so many great movies about dinosaurs! Growing up, every other movie was a dinosaur movie: The Land Before Time, Dinosaur, Dinotopia, Dawn oft he Dinosaurs, One of our Dinosaurs is Missing – and it is totally legitimate to watch The Good Dinosaur while waxing your legs! I AM THE EQUIVALENT OF ROSS GELLER, DON’T JUDGE ME! I’m just not as smart. My knowledge about dinosaurs ends with the distinction between T-Rex and the rest of ’em.

4c2dd866000940f8f447b34d9e6b16a3

I have a dinosaur sticker on my glasses and I just ordered an inflatable dinosaur to take swimming with me in the summer, and that’s a little insane, and that’s okay. I bet you have a weird obsession, something that makes your heart beat faster and that gets you excited. We should all be excited more often, it makes for a happier place.

Also, if history repeats itself, then I am SO getting a dinosaur!

676ca96e01eec289a66bd70460ddc8a3

Lots of love from the roots of my heart!
xxx

Leave a Reply

