The Harry Potter Book Tag

Everyone’s going wild because of Harry Potter again, and the world is as it should be! Potter and books, this tag is made for me!

I tagged myself. Thanks, me!

Important rule: You can’t use any of the HP books in the answer. (But who cares, eh?)

flagrate

A BOOK YOU FOUND THE THEME INTERESTING, BUT WOULD LIKE TO REWRITE.

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher. The story, at least in the beginning, is set in an appartment building that serves as the waiting room for all the souls that aren’t ready to pass through their doors to heaven. Beautiful idea, beautiful cover, beautiful writer – unfortunately the writing style just really isn’t for me.

 alohomora

THE FIRST BOOK IN A SERIES THAT GOT YOU HOOKED.

How can I answer this truthfully and not say Harry Potter? My dad read the books to me and my brother when we were very young; unless you count Where’s Waldo, we literally didn’t care about any sort of series before that.

 accio

A BOOK YOU WISH YOU COULD HAVE RIGHT NOW.

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon. I am really anxious to find out what’s going to happen to Paige, and how dare you end a book on SUCH a cliffhanger and then wait two years to give me the sequel!

If you don’t know who Samantha Shannon is, then you need to read The Bone Season RIGHT NOW!

 avadakedavra

A KILLER BOOK. BOTH SENSES. TAKE IT AS YOU LIKE.

Fools Rush In by Bill Carter. Both senses. In this gem Bill Carter shares his story of when he went to Bosnia during the war in the 1990ies where he helped distribute food and other goods and wound up filming the documentary Miss Sarajevo. I promise, this will change your life.

confundo

A BOOK THAT YOU FOUND REALLY CONFUSING.

Hades by Alexandra Adornetto. Maybe more disturbing than confusing. All those characters not knowing what they want and being all dramatic… ergh. Gave me a headache.

 epectopatronum

YOUR SPIRIT ANIMAL BOOK.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. I can’t read this without picturing New-Zealandese landscapes, and it always makes me feel a bit nostalgic. That aside, the story discusses questions that I’ve always found challenging and worth thinking about. I am not kidding, I read the first book when I was ten and decided to go save the world and marry Legolas (you only throw that stupid ring into a fire, job done! Easy.) To this day I find encouragement in the idea that the smallest person can change the outcome of things. Most of what I’m doing now was at some point inspired by Sir Tolkien.

 spetumsemtra

A DARK AND TWISTED BOOK.

Of Love and Shadows by Isabel Allende. That book feels especially dark and twisted because it tells the truth. The story is set in Chile during Pinochet’s dictatorship. A young journalist discovers the mass grave of brutally murdered civilians. She spends a disturbing amount of time in that grave.

Definitely a book worth reading. Also, pro tip: Get the tissues ready!

 adaasd

A BOOK THAT SURPRISED YOU IN A GREAT WAY BECAUSE IT REVEALS TO BE MORE THAN IT SEEMS.

Flat-Out Love by Jessica Parks. I assumed this would be a mere YA novel with the self-loathing teenage girl and the angsty, blond heart throb, but it turned out to be quite the opposite! Samantha and I ended up discussing this book in our book club of two more than once. (Samantha’s just this human who is obsessed with books as well)

I tag everyone who wants to do this tag! I’ll look forward to reading your answers!

Lots of love from the roots of my heart!
xxx

Leave a Reply

