All The Things You May Say To A Book Lover

Lately I have stumbled upon a number of posts on blogs that listed phrases you should never ever under any circumstances say to a book lover. I’d say I’m a pretty huge fan of books, and have been since I was a child. But every single one of those posts just annoyed me a great deal. It’s a snobby attitude to pretend that reading is a better hobby than, say, doing ballet or watching football. So, as a book lover, I decided to list all the things you may say to me (yes, even WHILE I’m reading!)…

 «But you have got so many books already!»
I knooow, right? And aren’t they pretty! Thank you so much for noticing!

 «Wow, you’ve read that book in a single day?»
Thank you, I appreciate the admiring tone!

 «I liked the movie better.»
That’s okay. Maybe it was a hell of a movie then!

 «I’m not going to read the book – I’ve already seen the movie!»
Seriously, the only time I will judge you for this is when it comes to Harry Potter. But, hey, sometimes we’re just not in the mood to like something!

 «You read a lot. What’s the name of the author who wrote that book about those things?»
Aw, I probably don’t know. But thank you for believing that I might!

«I’ve read this brilliant book…!»
Tell me more, tell me more!

«I hate to interrupt you while you’re reading, but…»
The last time I was told that, someone wanted to discuss dinner plans with me. Books are food for thought, but they’re not pasta.

«How many books do you have?»
I don’t know. But I don’t mind telling you about my shelves anyway (since you showed a spark of interest.)

«Wanna go to the bookstore?»
Yes please! Let’s talk about books, baby! Let’s talk about you and me…!

«I don’t have time to read.»
And I don’t have time for football or Grey’s Anatomy. We only make time for the things we actually enjoy, and why shouldn’t we?

«You must have been such a nerd in school!»
O.M.G. YES! But I once was thrown out of the library for inapropriate behaviour (= holding hands with a boy). So, you see, I was also a rebel.

«Haven’t you already read that book?»
And it was so amazing I’m reading it again! Maybe you would enjoy it, too?

«What’s that book about?»
Your mistake if you ask me that question, because I will now not shut up until I finish telling you the ENTIRE FRIGGIN’ PLOT!

I realise that every society has this group of people who think reading is rubbish. But same goes for every hobby. Not everyone can enjoy the same things, and some people find this harder to accept than others. But we readers like to believe that we’re super smart (which we TOTALLY are!), and shaming others for asking a silly question just isn’t a very smart thing to do. Really, there is only one sentence that every book lover will truly hate from the bottom of their hearts, and that is

«The sequel will be out in 2047!»

you-suck

Wishing you all a wonderful autmn-y week and a happy Booktober!

xxx

6 thoughts on “All The Things You May Say To A Book Lover

  1. I’ve said many of these things to my boyfriend! 😆 I don’t understand why he needs to keep every single book he’s ever read! Our place is looking like a library. And he refuses to switch to an e-reader. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

